Wedding Dress · Wedding Vendor

She says: Wedding Dress Dilemma – Things I Learnt.

I have yet to talk about my wedding dress again after my last post on wedding dress here. The reason is simply because I don’t feel satisfied with the dress my bridal did for me, yet.

Here’s the first fitting (I lose 2 inches after this photo was taken… huraaayy!)

I learnt something new, in contrary to popular belief, Made-To-Measure (MTM) has more potential for disaster than Off-the-Rack. I almost give up on my MTM dress. It doesn’t look anywhere near my vision of Katya. Sadly, the bridal shop’s collection is better than my MTM gown. It’s not anybody’s fault. I don’t blame my gown designer, nor I blame myself. So I will rather abandon it and choose something else off the rack.

But my persistent designer persuaded me to continue working on Katya’s design. The design is not like what they usually do, so their wedding dress template doesn’t work with this gown design. He re-constructed the whole piece from scratch again. Katya is such a demure, understated gown which is why I love the design.We will see the revised dress next month. Finger crossed!

Now I think, dress rehearsal is the best choice. Go to a bridal shop, pick up the dress you love, wear it, alter it and you’re done! Off-the-rack is better than Made-To-Measure, unless you are completely confident in your designer or maintain your expectation.

Please do it not more than 6-9 months before your wedding. Don’t look for any gowns once you decided. Not even on internet (I am speak for and to myself).

I’m thinking of getting a second gown for my outdoor wedding, most probably a designer gown from US or off-the-rack from Di Gio. I will let you know when it happens.

4 thoughts on “She says: Wedding Dress Dilemma – Things I Learnt.

  1. Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! I’m sure you had fun writing this article.

    1. Hi there,

      Thank you so much for your compliment! we did have fun with all our post and wedding preparation.
      I guess we are the blessed few who haven’t encountered wedding blue.. Hope we don’t have to suffer from it too!

  2. hey, thanks for this post. It made me feel so much better. I’m a Di Gio bride too and with Casey. It’s less than 3 months to my AD and I’m not happy with my MTM gown at all. Really considering hard to give up my MTM gown and get one OTR which is so beautiful. But I spent so much more on this MTM gown, its such a waste. I’m in a dilemma now and I thought I was the only unhappy bride with my MTM gown….

    Frankly speaking, I’m feeling really BLUE!!!

    Anyway, congrats on your coming big day!!! I’m sure you will look great!

    1. Hi there, based on my experience, you should tell them how you feel and you still have 3 months to change whatever you dont like. If your MTM is based on designer gown, just lower down your expectation. It wont be same, so work around it. That’s what happened to me, in the end, my Monique Lhuillier-copy gown looks like one of their gown.

Leave a Reply

