Do It Myself · Holy Matrimony · Wedding Decorations · Wedding Theme

She says: Vintage Typewriter for our Wedding

Getting inspiration from overseas wedding is a bittersweet experience. You really love what you see on the internet but in real life, our resources are limited. In this case, I’m always fascinated with vintage typewriter and I want one for my wedding! One of my dream is to share my fascination of vintage stuff with my guests.

I have been looking high and low for vintage typewriter. I came very close to buying a retro turquoise Royal Quite deLuxe 1950s from ebay, but lose the bid at the very last minutes. eBay is a good place to buy, but the shipping will cost a bomb! Almost the same price as the item itself.

Dead end..


I saw one beautifully polished early portable typewriter (1920s) in Wood Would’s new shop at Mandarin Gallery. They have an absolutely adorable place that melts my heart just to be there.

But the price slammed me back to the earth.. it’s a thousand plus dollar…WTH!!!
Another dead end…

Not until something wonderful happened on the last day of 2009..

Winston and I were strolling down to Tanjong Pagar MRT after a great end-of-the -year-lunch at Dim Joy, and we passed by one of the antique shop I used to visit, when I was still working in the Chinatown area. Just trying my luck, who knows I might get lucky today.

I DID!

I scored myself a well preserved, polished 1938 Remington Noiseless Standard no 10. A desktop typewriter! Which weighs about 15 kg. With a real good bargain! Thank God, one of my wedding wish is going to be fulfilled. Just need to purchase the ribbon from ebay.

Here is our beloved Remington ( pardon the ugly box!)

Check out this wonderful typewriter-themed wedding featured in Style Me Pretty. They have typewriter in every corner of the venue! Even on the table. I could never get enough of these!

PS : a little tips if you want to get a well polished vintage typewriter without have to bid, go to MyTypewriter.

Just prepare extra moneyyyy!! Me Money money! *Mr Krab’s voice*

10 thoughts on “She says: Vintage Typewriter for our Wedding

  1. I’m glad you found your typewriter, and I hope you have a glorious wedding. I stumbled upon your blog while surfing the web for a vintage typewriter. I’ve been hankering after one for ages. Would you mind telling me the address of the store your found it at? Or the addresses of the vintage stores you said you used to frequent? I would really appreciate it.

    If you comment after mine, I will receive an email alert. I would post my email directly, but one hears all these scary internet stories:/

    Thanks so much!
    Elizabeth

    1. Well, I am Winston, replying on behalf of Hellen.

      She found the typewriter in a place around Tanjong Pagar. For few option of typewriter, we will recommend Wood Would which can be found in the Cathay as well as the Mandarin Gallery I believed.

      Hellen : But they are not a vintage shop, they are a stationery shop. It’s my fave shop but I dont fancy their price…

  2. Hi,

    I happened to stumble upon your website as well and I would love to know if you are keen to rent us your typewriter as we have the exact same concept for our wedding and has been searching high and low for one but you are absolutely right, the shipping cost was just crazy and also purchasing the ink was another nightmare.
    So questions is 1/ are you keen to rent us your typewrtier for our wedding
    at a small fee? 2/ If I need to purchase the ink ribbons, from which ebayer did you purchase it from ? 3/ If you not willing to rent, will you be able to
    give me the exact address of the shop you purchase the typewriter in Tanjong Pagar please?

    thanks a ton and really looking forward to hear from you really soon as my wedding is happening in less than 63 days.

    Maggie

  3. Hi ,

    You are right, I absolutely looooovveeee this idea. My wedding is in April of 2012 and I am running into the same things everyone has been talking to you about. If you are willing to rent your typewritter I would also be interested in doing so.

    Thanks a lot, I look forward hearing from you.

    Lucia

      1. Hi there,
        Im having a vintage themed wedding this coming May. Like the other couples who are so into vintage stuff, my fiancé and I wonder if u would be able to rent us this cute lil machine for our special occasion? Kindly email me as soon as u are able to. Thanks lots.

  4. hi guys, Vintage is our theme too!! and absolutely love the vintage typewriter, yup was searching where to buy or rent…but it’s so costly and mostly from USA! Can we rent from you too? Drop me a mail soon! Wedding: December 2012

Leave a Reply

